Birgen, Ruto earn starts in Tusker clash

The team to play Tusker FC in the eighth round of matches has been named, with The Don making three changes

Defenders Brian Birgen and Oliver Ruto have overcome injury to make it to the starting team for the match against Tusker set for Afraha Stadium on Sunday 20 January, starting 1500hrs.

The two have been out of the team for the past few matches but have convinced head coach Dunstan Nyaudo and will be among the three changes made to the starting team after the win over Sony Sugar in the seventh round of matches.


Birgen replaces Hamisi Abdalla in the right side of defence while Ruto will take up Harun Mwale’s place with the two named on the bench. Another change sees Elvis Nandwa start in place of Ezekiel Okare who is on the bench.

Sunday Mwahila and Boniface Andayi miss out completely as The Don seeks the third win of the season.

The central defence partnership of Omar Mbongi and Paul Muchika will once again be on duty as Timothy Odhiambo continues in goal.

Starting XI: Timothy Odhiambo (GK), Brian Birgen, Oliver Ruto, Omar Mbongi, Paul Muchika, Boniface Onyango, Daniel Waweru, Churchill Muloma, Enosh Ochieng, Elvis Nandwa, John Njuguna.

Subs: James Saruni (GK), Hamisi Abdalla, Harun Mwale, Bernard Ongoma, Elijah Mwanzia, Mark Bikokwa, Ezekiel Okare.


Ulinzi Stars Cup