Rio returns, George rested as attention shifts to Vihiga clash

Geoffrey Kokoyo in action in the previouus game, against Kariobangi Sharks

Head coach Dunstan Nyaudo has named the team for the clash against Vihiga United slated for Sunday 15th July at the Mumias Sports Complex, with a few changes as Hassan Rio Mohamed, Omar Mbongi and Michael Otieno all return to the team.

Mohamed and Mbongi were rested in the last two matches while Michael was suspended in the last game. Hassan joins Geoffrey Kokoyo in central defence with George Omondi, who has featured full time in 21 of the last 22 matches is rested.


Skipper James Saruni returns to start between the sticks in his first game with both assistant captains Hassan and Kokoyo in central defence while Oliver Ruto will operate on the left side of defence and Cylus Shitote on the right.

Oscar Wamalwa gets a start upfront after an impressive cameo role in the game against Kariobangi Sharks while Elijah Mwanzia is handed his first start after an impressive week in training, which also saw him score twice in friendly matches.

Harun Mwale will once again be in from the start and operates in the left flank while Mbongi will provide the defensive cover in midfield. Michael Otieno will start from the bench.

Starting XI: James Saruni, Cylus Shitote, Oliver Ruto, Geoffrey Kokoyo, Hassan Mohamed, Omar Mbongi, Daniel Waweru, Churchill Muloma, Elijah Mwanzia, Oscar Wamalwa, Harun Mwale.

Subs: Timothy Odhiambo (GK), George Omondi, Cliff Kasuti, Michael Otieno, Elvis Nandwa, Masita Masuta, Bernard Ongoma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Ulinzi Stars Cup